home print logo sport print logo museums print logo libraries print logo events print logo arts print logo concert print logo young glasgow print logo communities print logo

Glasgow Royal Concert Hall

Picture of Connesson: Orchestral Works CD
  • Picture of Connesson: Orchestral Works CD
  • Picture of Connesson: Orchestral Works CD

Connesson: Orchestral Works CD



Product Description

Connesson: Orchestral Works (Cosmic Trilogy/ Letre De Lumiere) CD

  • Conductor: stephane Deneve

  • Composer: Guillame Connesson

  • Audio CD (4 Jan. 2010)

  • Please Note: Requires SACD-compatible hardware

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Format: Hybrid SACD, SACD

  • Label: Chandos

  • ASIN: B002VFCE92

Disc 1

  1. Supernova

  2. Une Lueur Dans L'age Sombre

  3. Aleph

  4. L'Etre De Lumiere

Recognised as one of the youngest and most gifted contemporary composers, Guillaume Connesson brings together an imaginatively diffuse range of influences, from the riches of the musical traditions of his native France to John Adams, Steve Reich and the funk of James Brown. During the composition of the works making up the Cosmic Trilogy Connesson also drew inspiration from such sources as the paintings of Kandinsky and the physics of Stephen Hawking. After first discovering Connesson s music in 2001, Stéphane Denève remarked on its amazing orchestration... the quality of writing for large orchestra on the level of a Ravel or Stravinsky! During his tenure at the Royal Scottish National Orchestra Denève has regularly championed Connesson s works and two parts of the Cosmic Trilogy, Aleph and Une lueur dans l âge sombre , were commissioned by the RSNO. These are dedicated to Denève; in fact, the symphonic dance Aleph was a marriage gift.

The Cosmic Trilogy evokes three moments in the history of the universe: the Big Bang in Aleph , the appearance of light and the stars in Une lueur dans l âge sombre , and finally the explosion and death of a star in Supernova . Connesson s works have been quickly appreciated by music lovers and performers for the exciting vitality they imbue, and the easy-going tonal strains that permeate them. The Guardian described the work as bright-toned and imaginatively scored... crowd-pleasing, colourful music . Chandos is delighted to presents the first recording of the complete trilogy.

Glasgow Life Logo